Reach Out

It took me a while to give it a try, but now a big fan of online social networks like facebook, MySpace, and such. It has helped me to re-connect with people from long ago. It helps me to stay in touch with my extended family and my son’s friends. It recently even helped my husband, affectionately known far and wide as The Furry Guy, to arrange a face-to-face encounter with one of his childhood friends who had moved to England 13 years ago. It’s amazing.

It’s also a really great way to feel like we’re connecting, when we’re not. I attended the viewing of a young man today. I didn’t know him, but I know and love his widow. Facebook helped me to reconnect with her after many years. There is nothing I could post on facebook, though, that could carry the same feeling as the hug I gave her this afternoon.

I’ve gotten such huge responses from people just because I sent a card (2 minutes), wrote a quick note (5 to 10 minutes), made a phone call (15 to 20 minutes), or met someone for lunch (an hour or 3). It doesn’t take much time, but it does take a little bit of thought to reach out and truly connect with another person.

Have lots of fun engaging in all of those cyber-space watering holes. Just remember to make some real contact. You’ll feel better, and you might even make someone else’s day.

Leave a Reply

