Goodbye Carbs. I’ll Miss You.

Well, I might have been wrong about the depression. I spoke with the person I call my Alternative Health Adviser. She is a CNHP and has earned my trust. She’s a valued member of my health care team. She said it sounded to her like my pancreas was over-stressed. The lethargy, head fog, and weird weight redistribution are classic symptoms. As a person with diabetes, my pancreas is definitely an issue. The pancreas produces insulin, which is a hormone. That hormone affects all of my other hormones, so her diagnosis makes sense to me.

She suggested what I’m thinking of as a carb fast. Basically I’ll be giving up carbs for a while. I’ll be eating lean protein, some dairy, and low-glycemic veggies. After the first two or three days I’ll know if it’s working. After two or three weeks I’ll add whole grains and healthy carbs (like fruits and veggies) back into my diet.

We talked about how to manage my blood sugar during this carb fast. I’m not looking forward to going through it, but I do look forward to feeling better.

So far, so good. Then again, I just started about 17 hours ago.

4 Responses to Goodbye Carbs. I’ll Miss You.

  1. coffeecrazd says:

    good luck! update to let us know how it works out 🙂

  2. mommabates says:

    Thanks. I’m sure I’ll be blogging about my experience with the carb fast.

  3. Ann says:

    Ugh. I’m too much of a carb addict to even attempt what you’re doing. Good luck – I hope this answers your questions and clears up some issues for you.
    A

  4. mommabates says:

    Thanks. Actually, I love my carbs. I’m usually (nobody’s perfect) good about choosing whole grains, fresh fruits, and veggies for my carbs. I’m hoping this resets my system so I can get back to normal. Well, I’d like to get back to what passes for normal for me. LOL!

Leave a Reply

