My Job

I did a party last night. It was a lot of fun. Now, I enjoy the money I make from those parties. However, my view is a bit different than a lot of people in direct sales. Here are my thoughts:

A party is financially successful if the host is able to get what she hoped for. Sometimes that requires a high sales total. Sometimes it’s a party that just barely qualifies as a legitimate party.

Financial success doesn’t define a successful party. I decided years ago that a party would be successful if everyone had a good time and at least one person learned something. This is the goal of every one of my parties. After all, they’re parties.

I know some consultants (or demonstrators, or advisers, or whatever) get very upset when the crowd starts talking to one another and stops paying attention. That doesn’t bother me. If the guests are having fun we’re halfway to a successful party. Frankly, they could order the things I sell online. They come to the party to support the host, to have a good time, to ask a few questions, or simply to get out of the house for something other than grocery shopping. Buying the products is a last thing on the list for most of them.

This mindset works for me on a few different levels. First, a host will generally put in the effort necessary to reach their goal. My expectation has no bearing. So, outside of making sure she (or he) has the tools and information to do just that, I have no power to change the outcome. Second, I have no control over how many people order or how much they spend. So, basing my success strictly on the financial aspect of the party sets me up for disappointment. Focusing on being fun and informative centers me within my sphere of actual influence. Third, happy, engaged people are more fun to be around. This makes my time at the party enjoyable. And finally, from a purely mercenary standpoint, people who have a good time are much more likely to host parties of their own.

Back to last night’s party. We’ll finish things up on Monday, but everyone had a good time. Some people had a great time. The host’s co-workers clearly love and enjoy one another. After most of the other guests had left and my stuff was cleaned up, these women invited me to sit and talk with them. Two and a half hours later we all went our separate ways. We had laughed. We had shared. We had teased one another. It was an amazing time of estrogen-driven bonding.

This is one of the most rewarding things about my job. Through the years I’ve made some wonderful friends. It’s a blessing.

I love my job!

2 Responses to My Job

  1. Laurie says:

    What a beautiful and selfless way to look at our job. It must have been what I needed to read, because I started crying while reading it. You have truly hit the nail on the head with your philosophy. I hope you don’t mind, but I have copied your post and printed it out so I can post it on my bulletin board in my office.

    Thank you!

    • mommabates says:

      Laurie, I don’t mind at all. I’m honored that you would consider something I wrote worth posting in your office.

Leave a Reply

