Feelin’ Good

It’s been just over a week since I started trying to give my pancreas a little rest. Yes, I had to add a little bit of good, complex carbs back in. I’m doing great, though. I feel energetic again. My brain fog is gone. I feel like I’m able to focus and get things done like I want.

Another benefit I’ve noticed is that I’m no longer white-knuckling my way through the bakery section of the grocery store. For the longest time the cream-filled chocolate-covered donuts have taunted me as I sashay by with my cart. Switching up my diet to a higher ratio of protein to carbohydrates seems to have been just what I needed. I’m not advocating it for everyone. We’re all different chemically. I’m not sure this would have been the best thing for me even a few years ago. It’s clearly what I needed now, though.

I’m still struggling a bit with sleep. I go to sleep easily, but I wake a few hours later. I’ll be talking with Judy about that. Last time we talked she said it sounded like I was coming completely out of sleep as I cycled instead of slipping back down into deep sleep. Silly me.

That brings me to my point. We’re all different. Hormones, genetic predispositions, and general chemical makeup are different from person to person and even year to year. You need to be aware of your own body. Do those self-exams. They exist for men and women. See your doctor (or doctors) for all of your regular exams. Read. Get informed. Take responsibility for your own health. Your life depends on it.

Leave a Reply

