Pouring from an Empty Cup

Women are strange creatures. We seem to believe that it’s wrong to take care of ourselves.

Let me be clear. Many of us are selfish, choosing to do only what we want and focusing on our wishes and desires to the exclusion of anyone or anything else. That’s wrong. The priority really does need to be God’s will first and foremost. We need to respect and consider the feelings, needs, and wishes of others before deciding what actions we’ll take. However, I’ve seen far too many women let themselves get run down to the point of being ill in an attempt to take care of everyone else.

I recently heard someone (I’d give credit if I could remember who) say that you can’t pour from an empty cup. Have you ever really listened to the instructions the flight attendants give at the beginning of a flight? You’re supposed to put the oxygen mask on yourself before attempting to help someone else. That’s because if you don’t you can be overcome by lack of oxygen, which would mean that both of you could die.

Exercise. Eat right. Get plenty of sleep. Take a few minutes each day to do something that you consider relaxing and/or refreshing. These steps won’t take a lot of time, but they’ll make you more productive and probably more fun to be around.

Taking care of yourself isn’t selfish. It’s one of the most important things you can do for those you love.

2 Responses to Pouring from an Empty Cup

  1. Crystal says:

    Rea – I needed that reminder. With so many iron’s in the fire, my DH still at home (no work yet) and trouble in paradise I tend to try to do it all. I know that stress was the catalist for my recent physical issues, but I still find myself trying to pour from an empty cup. Thank you for pointing out that I can’t do that, that I NEED to make myself a priority.

    psst – I love reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

