Still Salty

Two buddies are fishing, but they haven’t caught anything all day. Then, another fisherman walks by with a huge load of fish. They ask him where he got all the fish.

The other fisherman says, “If you just go down the stream until the water isn’t salty, there is a ton of hungry fish.”

They thank him and go on their way. About 15 minutes later, one fisherman says to the other “fill the bucket up with water and see if the water is salty.”

He dips the bucket in the stream and drinks some. “Nope. Still salty.” They walk on. Thirty minutes later, he asks him to check again.

“Nope, still salty.” About every 15 minutes they check and the answer is always the same. “Nope. Still salty.”

“This isn’t good,” the fisherman finally says. “We have been walking for almost two hours and the water is still salty!”

“I know,” says the other. “And the bucket is almost empty!”

I know the joke is bad. I do have a reason for sharing it, though. You see, too often I’ve been like the fisherman with the bucket. I’ve walked all that way, but I’ve kept that same brackish water in my bucket instead of emptying it out and dipping up fresh water.

Usually that bad water is old attitudes:

  • I hate to make phone calls.
  • I’ll just be interrupting.
  • If she wanted to talk to me she’d call.
  • I’ve always done it this way.
  • You get the idea.

    I recently went to the national conference for my direct sales company. It was a nice, long walk along the river. I’ve chosen to dip my bucket in that water to test it out. I’ve emptied out my old attitudes and dipped up some new ideas.

    The great thing about dipping up the new ideas is that if they turn out to be a little salty it’s just as easy to empty them out and scoop up some new ones.

    Leave a Reply

