When I’m Frustrated

I’m like everyone else. There are times when I get really frustrated. There are times when the people around me aren’t behaving in ways that I consider appropriate for grown adults. There are times when I’m ready to throw in the towel, quit, and spend my time baking cookies for The Furry Guy.

I’ve learned to recognize these feelings for what they really are—an attack of the enemy. The Bible says that the Satan came to steal, kill, and destroy. He prowls around like a lion looking for those whom he can destroy. Sometimes he turns his attention to me.

When I realize I’m getting frustrated. I take a step away at my earliest convenience. I make sure, first, that I’m not hungry or tired. Those are bound to make me easily frustrated. Then I start to pray. I pray about my attitude. I take responsibility, knowing that my feelings, responses, and attitudes are mine and mine alone. I pray about the many things on my plate, asking for wisdom and guidance to know if it’s time to step away from any of them. I talk to those closest to me, those who will be lovingly but pointedly honest.

Long ago I made a pledge to never make decisions when I’m experiencing emotional upheaval. You see, I make terrible decisions when I’m upset or frustrated. I know I’m not the only one. I’ve seen people throw away relationships, jobs, and ministries in a fit of frustration. It’s sad.

Frustration will pass. If it’s truly time for me to walk away from a project or responsibility, God will show me. He’ll make it clear even when I’m enjoying what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

