Expiration Date?

There is a commercial that airs here for Cancer Treatment Centers of America in which a woman says that her doctor told her she had no expiration date. I hear that commercial all the time. The other day I thought, “Yes, you do. The doctor just can’t tell you what it is. We’re all going to expire sometime.” Then I literally stopped in my tracks and thought, “No, that’s not necessarily true.”

There are a few different kinds of dates on things. There are expiration dates, sell-by dates, and best-if-used-by dates. They mean very different things.

We each have a date stamped on us. We can’t see it, but it’s still there. As a Christian, someone who has accepted the gift of salvation and submitted my life to Christ’s leadership, I have no expiration date. The date stamped on me is a best-if-used-by date. When I leave this world I have a better place to go. However, at that point I’ll be of no use here. I must make the best use of my time while I can.

Since I don’t know what that date is, it’s important for me to be ready. It’s important for me to be fruitful today. That doesn’t mean I can’t relax. It’s not really even about doing things. It’s about living my life as a testimony. It’s about doing my best to exude love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Do I do that perfectly? No. Perfection isn’t the point. The point is that it’s important for me to continually adjust my attitudes and actions with that fruitfulness in mind. I want to make as much of a difference in the lives of those around me as I can before I reach that best-if-used-by date.

Leave a Reply

