Dressing for Comfort

I will be the first to admit that I’m not a fashion plate. I agree with Gilda Radner, “I base most of my fashion sense on what doesn’t itch.”

Still, I think I dress well. I do my best to make sure that what I wear flatters me. I do try to pay attention to what is considered fashionable, but comfort is my main concern. If my clothes don’t fit comfortably, they haven’t earned the right to continue living in my closet.

I recently had the pleasure of hosting a booth at an event. The main speaker at that even was Clinton Kelly, one of the hosts from What Not to Wear. He said that fit is the first element of style. If it fits properly, it will be comfortable.

When I know I’m going out, I dress for seeing real people. (No, the people who live in my house aren’t real people.) Sweats can look athletic and attractive. Mine don’t. Mine are big and sloppy, so they aren’t worn around real people. Now, in the interest of honesty, I must admit to having worn them to our local grocery on a few occasions when I found myself out of something while in the middle of making a recipe. I’m not someone who will stop in the middle of something like that to put on my makeup, do my hair, and dress for an outing just to run out for butter (or milk, or peanut butter, or whatever).

Everything I wear in public, from jeans and a sweatshirt to my dressiest slacks and tops, feels good. All of my shoes are comfortable. Some are definitely built for walking more than others. I’m not miserable in any of them, though.

I spend a lot of my time out among people. I’m shocked at the number of people, women especially, who will wear sloppy, ill-fitting clothing in public. I love my jammies, but I don’t wear them in public. For the last several years I’ve seen women wearing what are clearly jammie pants in public. Baggy sweats, sloppy t-shirts, and the like are for housework, yard work or the gym, not the mall.

Part of my concern for my appearance is related to my business. As a businesswoman, I tend to make myself a walking billboard. I wear logo-wear often. I want people to see me as clean, neat, and professional, even when I’m wearing jeans and a sweatshirt. But, that’s not the only reason. I feel better when I’m dressed appropriately.

I’ve noticed that the way I carry myself and the way I interact with people differs when I’m put together. I wonder if some of the lack of courtesy and civility in our society could be remedied by a change in wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

