What Have You Done for You Lately?

I’ve been looking forward to today. It’s my taking-care-of-me day. I have a salon appointment to get my hair cut colored. After a leisurely lunch I’ll go to my massage therapist for a 30-minute massage. I find both of those appointments very relaxing. I generally make my hair and massage appointments on the same day. They’re in the same town, so it makes sense to do them together.

Before I leave each of those places today I’ll make appointments for next month. I get my hair trimmed every four weeks. Color is done every eight weeks. The massage is 30 minutes every 4 weeks, unless I know I need a little more. For instance, I had a 60-minute, full-body massage when I got back from the national conference for my direct sales company. I knew I’d be doing a lot of walking, carrying, and standing on concrete. After punishing my body, I needed to give it a little extra TLC.

Before you decide that I’m a completely decadent woman, let me explain how the massage routine came about. Early this year I developed a headache that just wouldn’t go away. It wasn’t debilitating, but it was definitely frustrating. It took three months for me to finally go through my repertoire of remedies. I spoke with my general practitioner, who attributed the headache to stress. That made sense, but it didn’t make the headache go away.

I saw a chiropractor. He told me there was nothing at all wrong with my alignment. However, my muscles were so tight that he was amazed at my range of motion. He suggested that I see a qualified massage therapist three times over the next two weeks. Voila! My headache was gone after the first massage. In order to retrain my muscles to assume a relaxed position, I kept those other two appointments.

I’ve found that every four weeks is optimal for keeping my muscles supple and relaxed. Since that’s my hair schedule, it works out well.

In addition to my monthly take-care-of-me day, I spend time each day taking care of myself. That starts with my exercise time and devotional time. It includes a bit of time each day to read for pleasure.

We women seem to think that doing things for ourselves is selfish. It’s not. If I don’t take the time to take care of myself, I don’t have anything to give to my husband, my son, my friends, my church, or my job.

So, tell me. What have you done for you lately?

Leave a Reply

