Sincere Evaluation

People are interesting. I know people who describe themselves as good employees, even though they’re habitually late. I know people who describe themselves as honest, even though they routinely tell “little white lies.”

Now, none of us is perfect. None of us sees ourselves in the same way others see us. Still, I think it’s important to evaluate my own behavior, being brutally honest with myself. It isn’t always pretty, but it’s a valuable tool for growth.

My goal is to become a better person. If I never sincerely evaluate areas of my life in which I fall short, I’ll never be able to make the necessary changes. Many of those changes are in private areas of my life. No one outside my home might know about them. Heck, no one outside my own head will know about a few of them.

It isn’t always easy, but it’s a good thing for me to do.

Leave a Reply

