Have a Bad Week

As I was leaving church yesterday a friend said, “Have a good week.”

I responded, “Thanks. I plan to.”

She said, “I guess no one ever plans to have a bad one.”

To which I replied, “Well, I’m not so sure about that.” And, that got me thinking.

I know people who, as far as I can tell, actually plan to have a bad week. On Sunday they start dreading Monday. They think about how much they dread going to work the next morning. They think about the long week ahead, counting the days, the hours, until Friday. I’ve heard that some studies have shown that for many people the lowest point of their week is Sunday afternoon/evening. Why? Dread anticipation of the week ahead.

Now, I can’t think of a better way to plan for a bad week. When I focus on things that elicit negative feelings, I set my attitude to negative. Negative attitudes are bound to lead to a bad week.

I often spend time on Sunday afternoon/evening preparing for the coming week. But, I try to focus on the positives—I have a job I love, friends and family I love, and a Savior who will lead me if only I’ll let Him. Your positives may be different than mine. You may need to simply focus on the fact that you have a job. You might need to be grateful that your family lives far away. Trust me, we’ve all been through those times. But, if you’ll just focus on the positives instead of the negatives, you’re more likely to have a good week.

The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

