Rules

The direct sales company I’m with has strict rules for the internet. They’re pretty restrictive. People break these rules all the time. Some of them, I’m sure, are unaware that they are breaking the rules. When these people are informed, they usually apologize and remove the links and such that are against the rules. Other people simply ignore the warnings and continue to break the rules. A few become downright nasty.

Here’s the thing—breaking the rules is wrong. It doesn’t matter if you don’t agree with the rules or not. When I signed up with the direct sales company I agreed to abide by the rules they established. It doesn’t matter whether I’ve read those rules or not. (Although, since I’m agreeing to abide by those rules, it’s a good thing to read them and make sure I know what I’m agreeing to.)

Breaking the rules is no way to do business. It’s dishonest. Sure, it may give you an advantage in the present, but it is sure to cause damage in the long run. You may be caught and disciplined. You may not. It doesn’t matter. You are damaging your integrity and your business when you break the rules.

Leave a Reply

