A Perfect Fit

It’s difficult for me to find clothes that fit me perfectly. I’m short, short-waisted, and curvy. One of the best things I ever did was find a good, local alterations shop. With just a simple nip here and a hem there, they can make my not-quite-right clothes fit like they were custom made for me.

That’s true in business, too. I’m an information/education junkie. I really like getting ideas from others. However, off-the-rack ideas may not fit me perfectly. It’s amazing how much difference it can make when I tweak an idea, altering it just a bit to fit me, to fit my style.

When I have clothes altered I have to try the piece on so the person doing the alterations can see where it fits and where it needs a little adjustment. Again, this is true with ideas as well. One of the best ways I’ve found to figure out where an idea needs to be adjusted is to try it on. I embrace a new idea for a specific length of time—3, 6, or 9 months. At the end of that time I know what parts of the idea fit and which need some tweaking to make them just right for me.

I’ve seen too many people throw out a perfectly good idea because it wasn’t quite them, when one or two little alterations would have make it a perfect fit.

Leave a Reply

