Do What Scares You

“He is not worthy of the honeycomb that shuns the hive because the bees have stings.” –Shakespeare

I don’t often show fear. That doesn’t mean I’m not anxious, nervous, or fearful in certain situations. Believe it or not, I still get butterflies when I go to do a direct sales show for a new crowd. I’m not particularly shy, but stepping into a new situation where I know no one and am not completely sure what to expect does get my adrenalin pumping. Years ago I learned to swallow that fear and move on.

Don’t get me wrong. There are things I avoid. I will never be a contestant on Survivor. There’s no way I’d eat raw eyeballs or fish guts. I definitely pick the fears I’m willing to confront.

There was a time I when I was so afraid of heights that I literally couldn’t stand on a chair. Over time I learned to set that fear aside and take just one step higher than last time. I’m still not a fan of heights, though I’m much better than I used to be. The Furry Guy has actually taken me for some low-level rock climbing.

If you never do anything that scares you, your world will get smaller and smaller. If you occasionally do something that scares you, you’ll discover that your world will get larger and larger.

Make a commitment now to do what scares you.

Leave a Reply

