Whether I Feel It or Not

Another confession here—last Sunday I really didn’t feel connected at all. I’m not sure what it was. I know that part of it was a comment I made just as the service was getting started. I corrected our pastor. He made a comment about the timing of the upcoming time change. He was mistaken, so I said, “No.” A small, pleasant exchange took place, and the service went on. That’s when my internal dialog started. I realized that it was possible that I had misunderstood what he had meant. All sorts of scenarios ran through my head. I was wrong in all of them.

Several times I had to drag my thoughts back to the words I was singing. I didn’t feel that emotional connection that I usually experience during worship.

You know what, though? That really doesn’t matter. Oh, I prefer those worship moments when I experience the full spectrum of feelings that puts me right there in God’s presence. But, the truth is that it doesn’t really matter whether I feel that or not. I am standing in His presence. I am telling Him how much I love Him and appreciate the things he does in my life. Whether I feel it or not, I know that He is in control. He has my best interests at heart. He deserves my praise.

I’m so thankful that my salvation doesn’t depend on my feelings. I will praise Him and serve Him whether I feel it at that particular moment or not.

Leave a Reply

