I’m On the Lookout

We were talking last night at Bible study about making a difference—stepping outside our comfortable lives to reach other people. Our associate pastor, Kevin, has a son who’s not yet a year old. He said that he really doesn’t care what that little guy grows up to be. What he does care about is that he wants his son to do whatever he does in the service of the Lord.

That’s my goal, too. I want to do everything I do for the Lord. I want to reach people for Him in every area of my life. In order to do that, I need to be on aware of the opportunities around me. I need to keep watch for the chance to say a kind word or lend a hand. Jesus said that whenever I do those things I’m doing them for Him, too.

It’s hard to do that if I’m too focused on my schedule, on my plan, on myself. I must be on the lookout for those opportunities. I must be aware of the people around me. Just about every morning I pray for God to make me aware of the appointments He’s set for me. I’m on the lookout.

Leave a Reply

