Desperation

Desperation is a very poor business motivator. It can be disastrous. I’ve seen it time and again in direct sales.

Consultants will have a month (or a stretch of months) where they struggle to get bookings or they’re striving to hit a certain sales level. During those times they often cry out in frustration, “HELP! I can’t get bookings!” or “I NEED sales.” Their facebook pages become filled with pleas for bookings or orders. They complain that it seems that people are avoiding them. The truth is that they probably are.

When people are desperate their whole focus becomes themselves. How can I get a show? How can I get more sales? How can I . . . I . . . I? It’s like a drowning man grasping at the people who are trying to help him. Those helpers sometimes have trouble getting close enough to actually help the drowning man. He’s pushing away the very people who could save his life.

My direct sales business, while it’s my business, is really about people. It can be difficult, especially if I’m struggling with sales or bookings, but when I make the people my focus my business is better. How can I help her get the things she wants from her show? How can I help him solve that issue or make that chore easier? I truly believe that what I have to offer is of great benefit to my customers. I need to focus on that.

I’m not saying it’s easy. When I have a month sitting there on my calendar that seems to be vast and empty, my first instinct is to beg everyone I know to host a party or, at the very least, place an order. At those times I sit down, take a deep breath, and remind myself that it’s not about me. Changing that focus changes the tone of my voice. Changing that focus changes my posture and attitude. And, by extension, it changes my business.

Generally speaking, I keep my calendar as full as I want it to be. That doesn’t mean that I never have those moments of panic, thinking that I’ll miss an incentive or fall short of a goal. However, if I give in to that desperation I almost guarantee that my fears will come true.

One Response to Desperation

  1. Kristin says:

    There is so much I could comment on this, but I think “amen’ says it all. Great blog Rae!

Leave a Reply

