Christmas Spirit

I love Christmas. There’s an energy in the air that just invigorates me. I have an extra spring in my step, which is saying something if you know me. I greet people with a little extra sparkle. Again, that’s saying something.

One thing I do during the holiday season is carry candy canes with me. I buy a big box of the mini, individually wrapped candy canes. It costs me about $2. I make sure I have a handful when I enter any store from about the third week of November until New Year’s Day. When someone helps me, when someone checks out my purchases, when I see someone ringing a Salvation Army bell, I give them a candy cane. Usually I wish them a Merry Christmas. Sometimes I say that I hope my little token will sweeten their day.

The reactions are amazing. Yesterday a woman took my hand, looked me in the eye, and said, “This is Christmas spirit.” She’s right, to a certain extent. A big part of the Christmas spirit is generosity. Embrace that. It doesn’t have to be expensive. After all, my $2 lasts me pretty much all season. A kind word costs nothing.

Be warned if you decide to join me in candy cane giving. Some people don’t react well. Through the years I’ve had several people give me a very strange look and say no. I’ve had a few refuse to even touch the candy cane. Don’t be offended. I’m sure a few of these are people who don’t celebrate Christmas—people of other faiths. Some people have difficulty believing that anyone would give them something for nothing. I try to be very respectful of others’ wishes, beliefs, and emotions. That’s one of the reasons I don’t do any proselytizing when I hand out my treats.

On the other hand, the vast majority of people respond with a smile and a genuine word of thanks.

Try spreading a little bit of your own Christmas spirit over the next few weeks. It just might do your own spirit some good.

Leave a Reply

