Happy Holidays

It’s fairly obvious that I’m a Christian. I know that many of my fellow Christians get upset when someone wishes them Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas. I can understand, but I don’t agree. I have no problem with Happy Holidays. I use it myself when I’m speaking with someone I know is of another faith. I use it when I mean, “Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas, and have a wonderful New Year.”

I understand the placement of Happy Holidays signs in retail stores. Again, not a problem. I think part of the problem started a few years ago when a couple of big retailers told their employees that they were not to wish customers Merry Christmas. Now, that I have a problem with. You’ve gone from being inclusive to impinging on employees’ freedom to express their own faith.

Christ is the center of our celebration, and nothing anyone says can take that from me and my family. I understand and wholeheartedly support those who choose not to do business with companies that have no Christmas in sight or who choose to concentrate their shopping in places where you can see or hear “Merry Christmas.” We all need to make the choices that we feel our consciences nudging us about. Happy Holidays just isn’t one for me.

Leave a Reply

