Happy Holy Days

Holidays were originally church holy days. As a matter of fact, the word “holidays” is a contraction of the two words “holy days.”

As we’re in this holiday season, I’m doing my best to treat each one as a holy day. This is the season of Advent—a period of preparation beginning four Sundays before Christmas. In the church in which I grew up Advent was a big deal. In the church I’m attending now it’s not specifically celebrated. That doesn’t mean, though, that we aren’t preparing our hearts.

As part of my preparation and celebration of these holy days, I’m using a Jesse Tree for my devotional time. An online friend asked if I’d ever done one. Since I’d never heard of it, I Googled it. I found everything I needed free online except for the tree itself. That I picked up at a store for teachers. The Jesse Tree takes a scriptural walk from creation through history, through the lineage of Jesse and David, to the birth of Christ. It’s been amazing.

No matter how you do it, be sure to take time during this season of holy days to prepare your heart for Christ. Open your heart to the joy that He brings every single day.

4 Responses to Happy Holy Days

  1. Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

  2. I cannot believe this is true!

    • mommabates says:

      That’s okay. You don’t have to believe me. I know the long-term difference it’s made in my life. I would, however, encourage you to give it a try. You might be pleasantly surprised.

Leave a Reply

