That’s Entertainment?

I really don’t get it. Once again infidelity is being trotted out as one of the main plot points in a movie. This one is a comedy, no less.

Years ago when The Bridges of Madison County was so very popular, I watched with amazement as my friends virtually swooned over the romance between two characters. I must admit that I never saw the movie or read the book. The premise (as it was explained to me over and over) of a woman in a boring, loveless marriage finding “true love” with a man who’s in town for a while just never appealed to me. I honestly have no idea whether that “true love” is ever consummated. Frankly, I don’t really care. An affair of the heart is just as much an infidelity as a physical affair. If I remember correctly, I was told that she decides to stay with her boring husband. For some reason that doesn’t make me feel any better.

The same is true for Fatal Attraction. I did see that one when it aired on some television station we got at that time. When it first came out I had lots of people telling me I should see it. My husband was a marine at that time and at sea for several months. I told them that a movie that hinges on the fact that a man had an affair was not one I was interested in seeing while my husband was far away from me for months at a time. At least in that one there were some dire consequences resulting from a character’s infidelity. It’s not a movie I recommend, and I’m sure the uncut version is much worse than the sanitized version we saw.

Now we have It’s Complicated. Everyone’s atwitter over this movie about a woman having an affair with her now-remarried ex-husband. Oh, yeah, that sounds like a great basis for humor. (Please read that dripping with sarcasm.)

Maybe it’s because I’ve been the cuckolded spouse. Once you’ve felt the pain of finding out that your spouse has been unfaithful it’s difficult to see the entertainment value in what you’ve been through. (Don’t worry. It wasn’t The Furry Guy. It was my ex-husband who found other women more appealing. That’s one of the main reasons he’s now my ex-husband.)

I don’t care how suffocated you feel in your marriage—it is wrong to seek (or even succumb to) the attentions of another. It’s not romantic. It’s not exciting. It’s adultery. Plain and simple, it’s sin, and it hurts the people around you.

I also don’t care how much Meryl Streep and her onscreen friends giggle over what she’s doing. I don’t find it funny, and I won’t be seeing that movie.

Leave a Reply

