Resolutions

I don’t do resolutions. I often joke that I’m sure “resolutions” is Latin for things we know we should do but have no real intention of doing for any length of time.

I do, however, believe in setting goals. I think it’s important to look over what’s working and what’s not working in my life and in my business. I think it’s good to look toward the future and make a plan. Plans and goals are much more concrete than resolutions, at least in the way we Americans currently put the word into practice.

In my personal life I set goals for exercise, for eating right, and for clearing out debt. In my business I make plans for making new contacts, for making customer care contacts, and for implementing new ideas. These goals and plans contain specific steps for application, a timeline, and some sort of way to evaluate progress or results.

The first of the year is a natural time to take stock and make plans. It’s not the only time I do this, though. I do it a few times throughout the year. I don’t necessarily have a set schedule. In addition to late December/early January, I generally take stock of my business in late June, right before my direct sales company’s national conference. This way I know what I want to focus on during that training. I then evaluate again in early September. This gives me a chance to tweak whatever changes I’ve made as a result of that national conference training.

Knowing the areas in which I do well, helps me to capitalize on my strengths. Knowing the areas in which I need some work helps me to make my weaknesses less of a problem.

I hope you begin this New Year with a solid plan for making 2010 the best year yet.

Leave a Reply

