Happiness vs Joy

I’m watching a PBS show about happiness. It’s interesting. They are talking with people about what makes them happy as well as discussing the scientific studies about happiness.

Here’s the thing, though. Happiness is situational. I can be driving along on a beautiful, sunny day, radio playing my favorite songs, enjoying my day, when someone suddenly someone cuts me off. That can take me from happy to ticked off in a fraction of a second.

Joy is completely different. Joy is something that lives down inside despite the circumstances. I have experienced joy at a friend’s memorial service. I certainly wasn’t happy. I still miss that friend very much. The joy I felt that day had to do with the knowledge that she is in a much better place, and I will be able to see her again one day. It had to do with the hope I held inside at that moment.

Where can you find joy? Well, if you know me you know my answer. I believe that true joy is a result of knowing and serving God. Joy is one of the many blessings that come from embracing the gift of salvation from Jesus Christ.

Happiness is great. Joy is amazing.

2 Responses to Happiness vs Joy

  1. Great idea, but will this work over the long run?

Leave a Reply

