Undivided Attention

Many of my friends struggle with direct sales parties where everyone is talking to one another and paying no attention to them. I know that can be frustrating. I’ve had parties where it seemed no one was paying any attention at all to me. I was surprised and a bit put out the first time it happened.

Now, it’s rare any more for me to have the whole group distracted. It still get those pockets of talkers, though. I’ve decided that I’m not going to let that bother me. You see, parties are supposed to be fun. If a few guests have the most fun by chatting with one another, that’s okay.

It’s my job to be entertaining or informative enough that people want to pay attention to me. It is not my job to insist that everyone give me their undivided attention.

Leave a Reply

