I’m Fine

Are you really? I’m asked how I am a lot because I see lots of people. I’m one of the few people I know who gets a concerned response if I answer, “I’m fine.” My usual response is fantastic, wonderful, great, or something else along those lines. So, if I’m simply fine, people who know me get a little concerned.

Here’s my question. When someone asks how you are, are you honest? No, they aren’t looking for a rundown of your latest medical complaints. But, unless the question comes from the checker at the local grocery store, people do care. For many of us, the real answer is, “Not great, but I’ll be okay.” And, it’s okay to answer that way.

We feel like we have to put on a happy face for others. If we open up, though, and let others share our burdens, the burdens are lighter. If you’re struggling, let your friends help.

By the way, I’m not sharing this thought because I’m struggling right now. Things are actually going really well. I’m sharing this because I know a few people who are struggling and are doing their best to keep that from everyone around them. You don’t have to share everything with everyone, but it’s important to have people in your life with whom you can share your burdens.

So, how are you?

Leave a Reply

