Portrayals of Men

This weekend The Furry Guy and I watched the movie Julie & Julia. We loved the movie. For those who don’t know, it’s parallel stories about Julia Child, the chef, and Julie, the blogger. It follows Julia Child during the time that she and her husband lived in Paris and through the process of creating her famous book The Art of French Cooking. It follows Julie (about 40 years later) as she cooks every one of the recipes in The Art of French Cooking over the course of one year.

Now, I’m a foodie, so I was pretty sure I’d enjoy the third main character—the food. What I didn’t expect what how much I would enjoy the peek inside the marriages of these two women. Why? Because it’s one of the few movies I’ve seen in recent years in which the men were wonderful, supportive, caring partners with their wives.

Most movies, television shows, and even commercials these days seem to portray men as either perpetual adolescents or overbearing jerks. They’re stupid and clueless, or they’re bullying and belittling those around them. These are not the men I know. Well, okay, I know a few men like that. However, most of the men I know love their wives. They encourage and support them in the things they attempt. They bask in the glow of every success their wives achieve. You should hear these men talk about their wives. It’s inspiring.

In Julie & Julia the husbands are their wives biggest supporters. Of course, they’re well fed, which always helps The Furry Guy’s attitude. They don’t always agree with their wives, but they never, ever make their wives feel like they’re not 100% behind them.

The movie is funny and heartwarming. I must warn you there’s a little bit of bad language. There’s also quite a bit of talk about sex, though you don’t actually see anything. Like I said, they’re both married couples.

I just hope that this is the start of a trend—men portrayed as loving, caring, supportive, mature partners with their wives.

Leave a Reply

