Great Compliment

At my direct sales shows I ask for honest critique. This is especially true when I discover that one of the guests is also involved in direct sales. That was the case at a recent party.

When I asked this guest about hosting a party of her own she told me that she does something similar, so her calendar was pretty full. I asked her if she does what I do—attending other direct sales parties in order to garner tips. She laughed and said yes. I then asked her if she had any advice for me. She told me that this had been the best sales party she’d ever attended. I was flattered. I was even more flattered when she told me that she’d been in corporate sales for years before moving out on her own.

I then asked her if there was anything in particular about the party that stuck out to her. She said it was that I got everyone really involved. You see, I play a game where when I mention a product the first person to yell out, “Have it! Love it!” gets a candy. I also give a candy to anyone who asks a question about a product or the business. At the end of the party the person with the most candies (or empty wrappers) gets a prize. I told her that I found it really helped my sales. After all, for most of the guests I’m a stranger who is paid to sell the stuff. But, if the person sitting next to you, who you’ve known for years, tells you how wonderful a particular product is it carries more weight.

That’s when she gave me one of the best compliments I’ve ever received. She said, “But, you didn’t seem like a stranger.” That’s when I realized that my time spent connecting with guests before the party was definitely time well spent.

After basking in the glow of that wonderful compliment, I knew I needed to put it to good use. At my future shows I’m going to make sure that I’m focusing on the people, connecting with them from the time they arrive. After all, I want them to think of me as their friend who just happens to sell a great product. That connection is key to a successful direct sales business.

3 Responses to Great Compliment

  1. […] from: Great Compliment « Momma Bates's Blog Share and […]

  2. […] Great Compliment « Momma Bates's Blog […]

Leave a Reply

