Let Me Help You with That

It’s my goal to be the go-to person among my customers. I want my customers to know that whatever problem they have I’m here to help. I’ve got my limits, though.

Direct sales is an interesting business. The company sets return policies. They handle the exchanges and returns. As a matter of fact, the company I’m with makes it clear that exchanges and returns need to be handled through the home office. There are things I can do to help, but the final decision is up to them.

If my customer comes to me with an issue, I’m going to do everything I can to help them. The problem comes when someone who purchased something through another consultant asks me about a return or exchange. I know consultants who bend over backwards for everyone—to the point of paying for returns out of their own pocket. That’s not something I’m willing to do. I will make sure they have all of the information they need in order to take care of their business, but I draw the line at returning an item myself.

I’ve encountered people who felt that my decision meant that I wasn’t helpful. I understand, but I don’t agree. It’s basically like buying a product at Walmart and then accusing Target of bad customer service because they won’t exchange it.

Think through what you’re willing to do. Make sure you know where you are willing to draw that line. Then, just present that as your policy.

Leave a Reply

