Romance

This weekend The Furry Guy and I are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We’re going away for a romantic trip. Don’t laugh, now—we’re going to visit several antique shops, a couple of large close-out places, and a big mall.

First, let me assure you that I’m not torturing my husband. He loves to shop. He doesn’t love to spend, but he really does enjoy shopping. He’s a big bargain hunter. The truth is that our main objective is just to spend time away together.

I realize this doesn’t fall into the standard “romantic” category. That’s okay. We’re not all that standard ourselves. I think far too many of us women get caught up in what movies, books, and television tell us we should find romantic. The Furry Guy makes sure that my vehicle is tuned up and ready to go before I make a long drive. That’s one of the ways he takes care of me. I find that romantic. As we’re out on our little getaway we’ll talk, laugh, hold hands, and make discoveries together. After a quarter of a century, I think that’s darned romantic.

If you’re feeling like your relationship is lacking a bit in the romance department, maybe you should take another look at your definition of romantic.

Leave a Reply

