You’re So Organized

People say this about me all the time. It’s true. Now, I’m not neat and tidy. I am, however, very organized—especially when it comes to time. I get a lot done. As a matter of fact, I get so much done that people sometimes suggest that I start a business helping people get organized. That’s not likely to happen.

People like the idea of being organized, but they don’t really want to do the work—just like I like the idea of being neat, but I really don’t want to do the work it takes for the upkeep. Being organized is about making the time to think things through and make a plan. It’s about being realistic about how much time it takes to do various tasks. It’s about trying different things until you find what works for you.

That last one is probably the most difficult to get people to understand. What works for me might not work for you, which is the main reason I’d never consider a business helping people get organized. I went through several systems and plans before I figured out what works best for me. I’m sure there are some people who happen onto their ideal time management system on the first try. What happens most often, though, is that people try a system, it doesn’t suit them, so they decide that time management stuff is bunk. Or, at the very least, they decide that they’re just too unorganized for time management to work for them.

The reality is that getting organized is a matter of commitment plus trial and error. Once you’re ready to make a real commitment to getting organized the rest becomes fairly easy.

Leave a Reply

