You Haven’t Changed

Someone lied to me recently. I got together with some friends from high school. As one of the women arrived she said to me, “You haven’t changed at all.” What a lie. High school was many years and even more pounds ago. In high school I had brown hair. I’m now a redhead. In many ways I hardly resemble the tiny little brunette I was in high school. I told her what happens to girls who lie.

I thought about something later, though. I think I know what she meant. I still have the same smile. While I’ve matured in a lot of ways, I’m still the same perky girl who loves to laugh. I think she was probably talking about the short, bubbly girl who jumped up to give her a hug when she said, “You haven’t changed.” If that’s the case, she’s absolutely right.

Leave a Reply

