I’ve Been Meaning To

I was talking with some friends recently. We were talking about a website that I’d mentioned before. One of those friends said that she’d been meaning to check it out but kept forgetting. We all do that. It’s natural.

However, if you find yourself saying this a lot, you might want to take a look at how you’re following up. I’m talking about following up for your own good. If you mean to check out a business-boosting website but don’t, you’re only hurting yourself. If you mean to check out a devotional site, you’re only hurting yourself. That coupon site you’ve been meaning to try? You’re the one who misses out if you don’t. You could be missing out on some great stuff. That makes me wonder what else you might be missing out on.

Do you have some sort of system that helps to jog your memory about things you want to do? I have an organizer I carry with me pretty much all the time. I refer to it as my brain. It’s where I make notes for every aspect of my life—work, ministry, family, marketing, etc. If I’m planning to do something I write it down.

I’m not going to say that I haven’t ever forgotten to do something. What I can tell you is that it’s not a common occurrence. Having a place to write things down and checking it regularly is the best way to make sure that you do those things you’ve been meaning to do.

Leave a Reply

