Christmas Shopping

I know it’s June. It’s early June. Still, I’ve started Christmas shopping. I’ve bought a few things, and I have figured out what to get a few other people on my list.

Thinking ahead is one of the ways I make sure that I get done what I want to get done. I began making plans for my direct sales company’s annual conference not long after the last one ended. Our conference is in July. I made notes shortly after I arrived home of things I wanted to remember to do at or take to the next conference. In August we are able to sign up to have a set amount deducted from each month’s commission. This way we can set aside the registration fee along with enough to cover our hotel costs and possibly even travel expenses. Registration opens in April. I keep a standard packing list ready so that the only thing I need to do is update the clothing I’ll take and add anything that I noted after the last conference.

I generally tend to look ahead at least a month so that I can make adjustments now in order to be ready for whatever I’ve got scheduled.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m definitely an in-the-moment person. I’m completely present for whatever I’m doing right now. However, when I look over my schedule, I take the time to look ahead a few weeks. This also makes it easier for me to keep track of whether routine occurrences might interfere with special events.

Since I so often look ahead, I have Christmas in the back of my mind when a colleague mentions that in her print shop she can take a photograph, overprint it with text, and put the whole thing on canvas. It triggered an idea for a Christmas gift.

This has been a great benefit to my business as well as my personal life. By the way, as of today there are 201 days until Christmas. It will be here before you know it.

One Response to Christmas Shopping

  1. StarryGift | Wedding gifts and collectibles of Chinese and Western styles…

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing….

Leave a Reply

