Olaf

I was talking with The Furry Guy the other day while he was brushing his teeth. I was telling him about a comical exchange I’d had with a very thin friend. I love this friend, but I was teasing her that it was in spite of the fact that she’s very, very slim. (Don’t worry. She’s healthy, just naturally slim.) I told him that when I stand next to her I feel like, um, you know, Snoopy’s brother . . .

The Furry Guy turned to me and said, “Olaf.”

I said, “Yeah, that’s right. I fell like Snoopy’s chubby brother Olaf.”

He turned fully toward me and asked, “Why can I remember that but can’t remember the kids’ [in our class at church] names?” We laughed, and I told him it was probably that he’d been married to me so long my foibles were wearing off on him.

We both struggle to remember important things, but obscure trivia seems to flow from us effortlessly. We aren’t really sure what that says about us. I suppose it means we’re human. In this case it probably also means we’re big fans of the Peanuts comic strip.

In case you’re wondering, Snoopy was said to have had seven siblings. He had two sisters (Molly and Belle) and five brothers (Spike, Andy, Olaf, Marbles, and Rover). Molly and Rover were never mentioned by name in the strips but appeared in the TV special Snoopy’s Reunion.

Leave a Reply

