Grammar Geek

I am definitely a grammar geek. No one is perfect, and I’m sure I make many, many grammar errors. Still, there are things that drive me a little crazy. And, being a grammar geek can cause some trouble.

Example 1: I recently questioned a task on a secretarial temp assignment. I had been asked to create two new signs identical to one they already had in use. The problem? The sign they were using had inappropriate quotation marks. I asked the manager if it was imperative that I make the new signs exactly like the old ones and pointed out that the quotation marks were unnecessary. He said it was. I told him that, while I absolutely hated to make signs with such an obvious grammatical error, I would do that if he insisted. I’m happy to report that he allowed me to print the signs without the quotation marks.

Example 2: I must constantly stop myself from correcting friends’ Facebook posts or emails in which they use your and you’re incorrectly. This one is really difficult. I don’t want to be the grammar police. I realize that in the grand scheme of things the use of an incorrect homonym is not a big deal. Still, it’s like fingernails on a chalkboard.

Example 3: I also have to stop myself from correcting people who use I when they should use me. We were all so browbeaten by our English teachers when we were in school that we now believe it should always be “and I.” Not true. If you would say “me” without the other person, you say “and me” with him.

Bobby and I went to the store.

But . . .

Come to the store with Bobby and me. You wouldn’t say, “Come to the store with I.”

No, I don’t walk around correcting people. I usually suffer in silence. Oh, the tortured life of a grammar geek.

One Response to Grammar Geek

  1. […] Grammar Geek « Momma Bates's Blog […]

Leave a Reply

