I Don’t Have Time

Someone asked me yesterday if I ever sleep. I assured her I do. She then commented that I just seem to have much more energy than she does. I told her that I have the energy I do because I eat right, exercise, and get plenty of sleep. (Well, most of the time I get plenty of sleep. Some nights are more difficult than others.) That’s when she said what so many people have said to me, “I don’t have time. I don’t have time to exercise, and I don’t have time to eat right.”

I understand. I really do. It takes effort to set aside the time necessary to plan meals and snacks, to exercise, to make sure you get to bed at a decent time. Of course, these things save time in the long run. Having the energy to get up and get everything done is such a great reward.

My confession? It took me years to figure this out. Seriously. The Furry Guy told me for years and years that I’d feel better if I exercised. I didn’t really believe him. I believed that he felt better when he exercised, but that was him. It’s me, too.

Once exercising, eating right, and a sensible bedtime become habits, it’s much easier to build your schedule around them. Prayer and devotional time is the same way. Now I can’t imagine not doing those things. If you think you don’t have the time, what you’re really saying is that you don’t believe it’s worth the effort. You make time for the things that are important to you.

Leave a Reply

