Sometimes It’s Me

As children we’re always being corrected about the use of the word “me.” Whenever we say, “Mike and me went to the store,” we hear, “It’s Mike and I.” Teachers and other adults have done such a good job of correcting us on this that we now use “Mike and I” even when we should be saying “Mike and me.”

I hear it all the time. Television reporters and anchors are really bad about it. Public speakers of all kinds get it wrong a lot. As a matter of fact, I’ve had people correct me when I’m using “me” correctly.

There’s an easy way to remember which you should use—take the other person out of the sentence. You wouldn’t say, “Send that to I,” so don’t say, “Send that to Susie and I.” The correct sentence would be “Sent that to Susie and me.” If that sounds wrong to you, you’ve probably been saying it wrong.

No, this isn’t the biggest issue in the world. What it is, though, is the dumbing down of our language. Using words correctly is a sign of a well-educated person. Plus, to be honest, it’s something that happens to grate on my nerves. After all, I am a word/grammar geek. And, sometimes it really is “me.”

Leave a Reply

