Don’t Let It Happen this Christmas

Christmas is less than three months away. Now is the time to start making plans. One of the most important things I do for myself is make sure I have plenty of private, personal time scheduled. This allows me the time to do the things that I enjoy most during the holiday season. It also means that I can make sure that my focus is on Christ.

One of the easiest things to do is get so focused on other things that the guest of honor gets left out. Christmas is a celebration of the fact that God came to earth in human form in order to become the perfect sacrifice for our sins. That’s pretty important. I’d hate to let that take a backseat to anything.

Want to know what I think is one of the things that often gets in the way of many devout Christians spending the Christmas season focused on Christ? Church. There are programs, and dinners, and services, and gatherings, and all kinds of things that can run you absolutely ragged. There’s nothing at all wrong with participating in church things. I’m very involved in my own church. What I do want to warn against is letting church take the place of spending time with God—privately, personally, deeply communing with the Lord, thanking Him for His sacrifice.

If you have looked back after Christmas in years past and felt like it lacked the spiritual focus you’d hoped, don’t let it happen again this Christmas. Block out some time now to focus on the Lord in December.

Leave a Reply

