You Seem Excited

I was shopping today, running all over. I received a call from our pastor’s wife asking if I could pick up some table covers. I said that was no problem. I stopped to pick them up—20 of them. The cashier asked if they were for a wedding. I told her they were for a funeral. She apologized, but I assured her it was okay. The man had been very ill for a long time. This was a blessing. He’s out of pain and with his savior. This will be a celebration of a life.

She stopped scanning items, looked at me, and said, “You seem really excited about God.” I told her I am. She said that she wished she was more like that and asked what church I attend. I gave her the details and told her she was welcome anytime. I asked if she had children. She does, so I told her about our children’s ministry.

When I left I got to thinking about our encounter. Now, I’m a passionate person. I’m more animated than the average person. I’m more animated than the average really animated person. I can tell you, though, that I’m probably most passionate about my walk with Christ. The Furry Guy is a fun guy, but he’s not quite as animated as I am. Still, when he talks about the things he’s doing for the Kingdom, the ways in which he’s serving others, he gets a gleam in his eye.

What I want to ask you is this. If you consider yourself a Christian, a follower of Jesus, a disciple of Christ, are you at least as excited when you discuss God as you are when you discuss your favorite sports team? Your favorite food? Your favorite movie or television show? If not, you might want to look at your priorities. Spending time daily with the Lord should show up as a gleam in your eye. I hope you’re excited about your Savior.

Leave a Reply

