Tree Carcass

I especially miss my Pig Butt Buddy (Beth) this time of year. She loved Christmas as much as I do. With the house all decorated, I’ve been thinking about one of my favorite fake fights we had.

I would like to begin by saying that I believe cut trees are wonderful. It’s not what we choose to do for a variety of reasons, but I think they’re a great tradition.

One year during the Christmas season Beth got in my car all excited. She said, “We’re getting a real Christmas tree. Do you have a real Christmas tree?”

I said, “Yes, we do. The ornaments wouldn’t stay on the imaginary one. The one we have is artificial, though.”

She made a face and said, “We’re getting a live Christmas tree!”

I said, “I think that’s wonderful. Have you decided where you’ll plant it after the holidays?”

She looked at me and said, “No, it’s not one of those. It’s the kind you get at a one of those Christmas tree places.”

I said, “Oh, so you’ve chosen a dead tree. You’ve placed a tree carcass in your living room. Well, that’s interesting.”

She gave me a playful hit and we laughed. I asked her all season long how that tree carcass was doing. Often after that when we’d pass a Christmas tree lot I’d say, “Oooh, look at the tree carcasses.”

Her last Christmas I gave her a singing pig that grunted O Christmas Tree. I attached a note with lyrics I’d written for the new song, O Tree Carcass. It began, “O tree carcass, o tree carcass, you’re dead but oh, so lovely.” She loved it.

I miss her a lot, and I still think “tree carcass” when I see a cut tree. Just can’t help myself.

To those of you who faithfully read my blog, thank you. I’ll be taking a blog break for the rest of this week. Check back next week for a new posting.

2 Responses to Tree Carcass

  1. NooraK says:

    I think it says so much of you and your friendship with Beth that you can share such wonderful memories, even when you miss her the most. Your post makes me miss her, and I never even knew her.

    • mommabates says:

      Thanks, Noora. I loved Beth and miss her dearly. Even after almost two years I sometimes tear up when I think of her. Though, most of my memories of Beth make me smile.

Leave a Reply

