Hall Pass

I’ve been seeing ads for a new movie, Hall Pass. The premise is pretty simple. A man’s wife gives him one week to act as though he’s single. Hilarity ensues.

You might be able to guess that I have some issues with this movie. It’s appalling to treat something as sacred as marriage as though it’s a job from which you need the occasional vacation. It’s wrong to act as though men are just itching to throw off their marital responsibilities. I’m sure there are those men out there. I’m sure there are men who think, “Yeah, that’s what I need—a hall pass from my marriage.” But I’m also sure that’s not the majority of men.

I recently found myself in the midst of a conversation about why so many marriages break up. We talked about the way that marriage is portrayed in movies and on TV. Hall Pass is fairly typical. Marriage is portrayed as something that women force men into. It’s not something that a man really wants. That’s what Hollywood would have you believe.

We have gotten to a place in society where we seem to want everything to be easy. If it’s hard it’s not worth the trouble. Marriage takes work. Sometimes it’s hard work. It involves thinking of someone else first. It isn’t all romance and sunshine. It is, however, worth every bit of effort.

As for this movie, I’ll pass.

Leave a Reply

