Wait

I must admit that I’m not the most patient person in the world. I tend to want what I want when I want it. Here’s the problem—often I need to wait on the Lord. His timing is rarely mine. That means I spend a lot of time waiting for His direction, His answer, or His intervention.

People seem to think that waiting on the Lord means simply sitting back, minding our own agendas, until He acts. Oh, no. That’s not waiting. That’s being lazy. Waiting on the Lord should be a time of preparation and growth.

Astronauts have to wait for their vehicle to be ready, for the ground crew to be ready, for the weather, and, I’m sure, a lot of other things to fall into place before they strap in and blast off. They spend that time training physically and mentally for their trip. They are learning what they need to know in order to complete their assignment successfully.

Top athletes are the same. Football, basketball, golf, tennis—you name the sport. The season for most sports is either short or sporadic. During the down time, while athletes are waiting for their next game, they’re not kicked back in their easy chairs. They’re training. They’re learning. They’re studying their competition. They’re doing whatever they can in order to be ready when the time comes.

As Christians, we need to be training. We need to be reading our Bibles. (Actually, this is easier than ever. There are audio versions available, so you can listen to God’s Word while you jog, drive to work, or work in your garden.) We need to be practicing loving and reaching out to those around us. We need to be spending time in prayer so that we recognize His voice when the answer or call to action comes. We need to be investing time into developing our natural gifts so we can use them for His glory.

I want to be ready when He calls me. I’m waiting for some answers, but I’m determined to spend that time getting ready. After all, when He calls I don’t want to have to say, “Wait! I’m not ready!”

Leave a Reply

