The Big News

I heard the news about Osama bin Laden’s death this morning. I’ve also been reading the online postings about it. And, I must admit that I’m sad.

Don’t get me wrong. I know that there wasn’t really any other choice. This man was clearly an enemy of the United States and bent on destroying us as a nation. I understand that this provides a great sense of closure for those who lost loved ones on 9/11. I get it.

My mind goes back to September 11, 2001. I remember the images of people in the Middle East cheering what had happened here. It sickened me. How could someone cheer the loss of life? And, yet, I see that same glee happening now over the death of Osama bin Laden.

I will not mourn the loss of Osama bin Laden. I will not weep at his passing. I also will not cheer. A soul has been eternally lost. That is not a reason for celebration.

Leave a Reply

