The Purpose of Facebook

I really like Facebook. It has helped me in my personal life to keep in touch with far-flung family members. It has helped me re-connect with people I knew years ago.

From a business standpoint, it has helped friends to lead their friends to me. It has helped me stay in touch with customers even when they aren’t in a purchasing mood.

Here’s the thing. The purpose of Facebook is social, not business. That doesn’t mean Facebook can’t be an important part of your business. What it means is that your purpose on Facebook (FB) should not be to sell things. I know that our purpose is to sell things. But, you need to get that out of your head when you’re posting on your FB Page. What you need to be thinking is: What can I say that will be of value to everyone reading this?

Yes, knowing about your sale is of value. And, about 20% of the time you should post things like that. But, if you’re a jewelry business, share style ideas. If you’re a business that sells wording that people can put on walls, share inspirational quotes. Mine is a cooking tools business, so I share food/cooking/entertaining tips.

If everything you post is a commercial for your products, you’re a giant infomercial. And, you’re probably not engaging people. It’s better to post less often with great content than to post several times a day with things that just annoy people.

Leave a Reply

