Crucifixion Saturday

As Christians we often talk about the day of Jesus’ crucifixion and the day of his resurrection. But, we really don’t spend a lot of time discussing the time in between. That’s what came to my mind this morning during my prayer time. What about Crucifixion Saturday? Can you imagine what His disciples were going through? How scared and confused they must have been? Imagine the disappointment. They thought Jesus was going to lead a revolution. Of course, we know He did; it just wasn’t the type of revolution they were expecting.

So, here they sat. Their leader had been executed in probably the most humiliating way possible. Add to that the strange things that happened–the sky turned dark, the earth trembled. What would they do now? How were they supposed to handle all of this that had happened? And, poor Peter was further burdened with the knowledge that he’d denied even knowing this man who had meant so much to him.

As I thought about this, it brought to mind the times when I didn’t understand what God was allowing in my life. I’ve felt confused and disappointed. The prayed-for outcome didn’t happen like I wanted…like I expected. Those aren’t fun times, but they’re times that happen in every Christian’s life.

After the resurrection the disciples understood. God’s plan was made clear. Usually as time goes by I can see that God’s plan was better than mine. Sometimes I remain in the dark about why my prayer was answered with a “no” or in some other way that didn’t meet my expectations.

When you find yourself in a Crucifixion Saturday situation, just hold on and pray. God has not deserted you. He is working on your behalf. The fact that you can’t see it right now doesn’t mean it’s not happening. Remember the promise of Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

